Creativity Is More Than Just Invention or; Everything Is A Remix

When I try to explain liberty to people, I often talk about opportunity, creativity, and innovation. But I don’t really intend to invoke Einstein, or the solitary genius toiling in the basement. Instead, I’m trying to encompass the idea of a thousand individual creative, subjective choices made every day, by everyone. Kirby Ferguson explores this idea, or at least a related offshoot in his ongoing series, Everything Is A Remix.

He’s planned two more parts to come out later this year. I look forward to them. On a related note, Rob Wilson created this comparison for the Kill Bill movies.

In Kirby’s words, creation requires influence. I’d add that it also requires opportunity to access, create, distribute, and consume.

This entry was posted in Art, Philosophy, Videos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.