FMM: RIP Patrick Halloran of Ceann

Every Friday morning we kick off your weekend with a few videos, loosely gathered around some theme. This week we say goodbye to a local musician who put songs on our lips, beer in our throats, and joy in our hearts.

I only saw Ceann play once, but it was the best damn St. Pat’s day I ever spent. They were loud and rude and funny and inviting, in that twinkling way that only the Irish have. So what if they were only Irish in spirit? Irish is mostly a state of mind to begin with.

Ceann played locally at Murphy’s in Alexandria. If you’re in the area it should be a regular hangout. Yesterday I got word that lead singer Patrick Halloran had been killed in a car accident up in Vermont. Murphy’s will be toasting him tomorrow night, and on Sunday, February 13th, there are plans for a bigger celebration in his memory. I’m going to try to make it, so if you see me, raise a glass of Guiness (or Yuengling, like Pat liked) and toast a great musician, and witty writer, and a damn, damn fine singer. Godspeed, Patrick, and may you be in heaven five minutes before the devil knows you’re dead.

Ceann – Pretty On The Inside The funniest song about misanthropy ever.

Ceann – Almost Irish You know what, Collin Ferrell is a marginal actor. At best.

Ceann – The Worst Pirate The first song I heard them play. There is a dance to go along, and everyone knew it. Even a five year old dressed up in green.

And of course, no (mostly) Irish memorium would be complete without this.

The Pogues – Body Of An American

This entry was posted in Friday Morning Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to FMM: RIP Patrick Halloran of Ceann

  1. Jackie says:

    RIP Patrick. His talent and humor will be missed. Never thought I’d cry during the Worst Pirate, but I’m laughing too. His legacy will be the laughter that continues. My sister put together a nice tribute video to him:

    Jackie

  2. Sarah says:

    That was a good day, Aaron.

  3. Kevin says:

    Thank you for the tribute! Patrick will be missed dearly. He was my second cousin (my dad’s cousin) – he was my cousin, regardless. Although I don’t have many memories of Patrick, the memories I do have are wonderful memories. He was an inspiration to everyone he came in contact with bringing fun to any situation. There is a quote that I feel fits him well – “you’re not here for a long time, you’re here for a good time”. Thank you Patrick!

Comments are closed.