Libertarianism, Lady-Style

I recently gave a talk to a group of interns about how to make the most of their semester inside the beltway. During the q+a, one intern asked about meeting people in town. You know, to date. I laughingly replied that being in a room full (or half-full) of libertarians was a culture shock for me. But that was nothing compared to the shock of meeting libertarian women. Ladies, in the words of Flight of the Conchords, you got it going on.

I make some dick jokes, and House of Punte gets pretty … incorrect. And the honest truth is, I don’t think about women’s issues or political correctness very much, because they aren’t things that touch me on a daily basis. Myopia isn’t the same as sexism. I hope.

Look, you have your dreams, I have mine.

Earlier in the week I wrote about the libertarian challenge of bringing ideals into day-to-day life, and in that spirit I’m adding a new blog to my rss-feed. It’s called Free Market Feminism. Run by Nicole Ciandella, it’s a ‘pro-liberty perspective on women’s issues’:

Free-market feminists, on the other hand, argue that enduring gender equality can and should be achieved through open discourse and the open market. Free-market feminists hold that most government interventions on behalf of women are, at best, short-term solutions to long-term problems. Often, they have unintended consequences which actually harm the very women they’re intended to protect. Free-market feminists argue that capitalism empowers women. It is through capitalism that women have managed to seize the tools and opportunities necessary to liberate themselves from the domestic realm and pursue their own self-interest. And it is through capitalism—not through government intervention—that women will ultimately manage to affect  cultural perceptions of gender difference and feminine ability.

Well put. I look forward to reading more. Hat-tip to Libby, who has a great analysis of one of Nicole’s posts about gender income inequities. Libby also suggests the term “libbo-femmes”. I think it’s a secret ploy to get most of her name into the title, but then, I’m a shameless egomaniac. Now to mail Kate Beckinsale another copy of End the Fed.

This entry was posted in Music, Philosophy, Videos, Websites We Like and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Libertarianism, Lady-Style

  1. Thanks for the post! As a lady of liberty, I’m excited to have another blog to follow.

  2. Pingback: AFF: Why do Women Vote for Democrats? « Ice Cream Headache

Comments are closed.