Winter Weather In Pics and Words

One of things I enjoy about DC is how changeable it is. How you can live like a chameleon, and do exactly what you feel you should. In every place I’ve ever lived, there’s been a vague, unspoken pressure, a sense that there are rules and I couldn’t distill them from the air as simply as everyone else. That same weight doesn’t press down as heavy here.

Unfortunately, our weather is similarly inconsistent. It was pleasantly mild two days ago, and then yesterdays bitter cold and biting wind gave way to a mild ice storm. This morning my walk to work was beautiful, and dangerous. My friend Lisa snapped this picture.

She also dropped this Nick Hornsby quote, and seemed ambivalent about its meaning:

We can’t be as good as we’d want to, so the question then becomes, how do we cope with our own badness?

She wrote: “I don’t know how this makes me feel. Definitely not warm and fuzzy”. This doesn’t bother me. The perfect is the enemy of the good, to quote an old scoundrel. We’re all imperfect, but more than that, within the confines of this world we’re unable of obtaining perfection. So our choices here become, necessarily, ones of comparison. Winter is the same way. It’s not as good as summer. But even if you loath winter, it will end. So deal with your discomfort, and your badness, and wait for spring to come again.

This entry was posted in Philosophy, Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.