Tucker Carlson Hates Mike Vick

Radley Balko lays some smackdown on The Daily Caller‘s founder and Bow-tie-in-Chief.

When I first read about this clip, I figured Carlson was just being droll. But not only hasn’t he walked the comment below back, but The Daily Caller is promoting the clip on its front page. Which is to say that The Daily Caller is trumpeting the idea that its founder believes the government should kill a man because he was cruel to his animals.

For the record, I’m a dog lover. I’m okay with state laws against dog fighting. (And I realize and concede this is probably inconsistent with general libertarian philosophy.) I don’t think Vick should have been prosecuted federally. I also think he’s done his time, has made his amends, and I have no problem being happy about his redemption and rooting on his success. Unless he’s playing the Colts.

All of that out of the way, Carlson is absolutely out of his mind on this. Seems like the way conservatives show they’re serious about an issue these days is by calling for someone to be executed.

I can’t decide what I think about Carlson. Sometimes he strikes me as a thoughtful, articulate advocate for a less political world. Other times he strikes me as a world-class self-satisfied hack. This time it’s the latter.

And there’s nothing anti-doctrinal about a libertarian being against dog-fighting, unless you consider highly intelligent companion animals “mere property”. I don’t know many dog owners who feel that way. That’s not to say that a goldfish deserves the same legal standing as a human, but for some animals, a higher moral/legal threshold short of full personhood might be appropriate.

This entry was posted in Government, Journalism, Videos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.