Crowdsourcing: Soup For You?

Nothing says “take a nap” like a cold rainy fall day. Like Arlington, today. I woke when it was dark, and will return home in the dark. All day long, a chill has crept inside my sweater, has played around my collar, and pecked at my finger-tips. All I can think about is curling up with a book, pulling a down comforter around me, and fading into sleep, while the dapple of raindrops plays a lullaby upon my window.

On days like this, the only thing to do is drink hot coffee, and eat warm soup. For lunch, I had some chili from Potbelly’s, and while it was decent, it wasn’t anything to write home (or the internet) about. So I thought I’d ask you all, what place has the best soup, either here, or wherever you are? As far as I know, there are no Hale & Hardy shops in the D.C. area, and we’re the poorer for it. I would have liked some lobster bisque or some New England clam chowder, but what’s your favorite? Share and share alike, so none of us face the coming dark of winter without some heaping bowls of sustenance. UPDATE: A friend shamed me into thinking about cooking my own, so if you have a recipe you’d like to share, feel free!

The image used here, and the one below, are by an artist named Francis Hamel. Above is “St Giles in November Rain”, and below is “St Giles in the Rain”. His work is excellent, and you can find signed prints at the link. These two remind me very strongly of Hemingway’s memoir “A Moveable Feast“, and its famous closing line “But this is how Paris was in the early days when we were very poor and very happy.”

This entry was posted in Art, Food and Drink, Good Reads and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crowdsourcing: Soup For You?

  1. Ali says:

    I used to live close to this Vietnamese restaurant, Saigon Bistro (Dupont Circle) and would frequently order beef noodle soup to go on a rainy day such as today. Highly recommend: http://saigonbistrodc.com/

    In Arlington, the white bean soup at Northside Social is pretty awesome. I’ve had it at lunch with a small salad and it’s the perfect combo. http://www.northsidesocialarlington.com/

    And last but not least, the grilled cheese and roasted tomato soup at Founding Farmers is the quintessential rainy day food and it’s made with super fresh and delicious ingredients. You’ll never want to go back to Campbell’s tomato soup after trying this. http://www.wearefoundingfarmers.com/menu_lunchdinner/

  2. Danimal says:

    I must share a recipe, if only for historic value.

    My great-grandfather was a lighthouse keeper off of Long Island, Maine. He lost his wife early, and raised my grandmother mostly by himself. She passed his recipe for seafood chowder down to me, and it rocks most abundantly.

    Take 1/2 pound of salt pork or bacon. Saute and render it down until crispy. Remove the crispy bits so you just have hot fat. Toss in a bigasstuous diced onion, and saute until clear. Remove the onion bits and put them into the container with the bacon.

    Add enough flour to make a thick roux. Cook it down for a bit, but not long enough for it to brown too much. This isn’t a cajun recipe.

    Grab a whisk, and add in about 1/2 cup of milk. Whisk it together, then pour in a full quart of heavy (yes, heavy!) cream. Then add about a pint of clam juice or fisk stock.

    Now it’s up to you to add stuff to the chowder. Clams and chopped potatoes are required, but everything else is optional. Some of the things I’ve enjoyed:

    any sort of white fish, especially tautaug
    canned, not fresh, salmon (really!)
    scallops
    crab meat
    chopped lobster meat
    sarimi (fake crab meat)
    shrimp, any size
    corn (to make corn/clam chowder)

    Then just let it warm up (not boil, damn you) until it’s thick and wonderful. Serve with crusty bread.

    If you make and like it, drop me an email.

Comments are closed.