Internet Awesome Alert

The Alot is an imaginary creature that I made up to help me deal with my compulsive need to correct other people’s grammar.  It kind of looks like a cross between a bear, a yak and a pug, and it has provided hours of entertainment for me in a situation where I’d normally be left feeling angry and disillusioned with the world.

That’s from today’s Internet Awesome Alert. I feel kinda stupid pimping a blog that gets 2 million visitors a month, but whatever. I just discovered Hyperbole and a Half. It’s written and drawn by Allie Brosh, columnist for The Gloss, whose goal is “to win the internet”.

There’s something deeply lovable about the art direction, in spite of it’s (literal) rough edges. It’s cute and funny and awkward and sad and endearing, because life is all of those things, sometimes all at once. Whether she’s talking about a grammar monster, the fish that almost ruined her life, or whether her dog is secretly retarded (spoiler alert: yes), the mix of pathos and ebullience warmed my cold black heart. Tell me this image for the retarded dog doesn’t turn your insides to kittens and cotton candy and rainbows:

If you didn't a) laugh and b) say "aww", you're a monster. You should get that checked out by a doctor who'll poke and prod you, and then say "Yup, you're a monster. Eat two children and call me in the morning."

Her logic is epic. Magical space bear? Why? In Allie’s words “You know what? Fuck it.”

All artwork courtesy of Hyperbole and a Half. Her writing is at least … four times as good as ours. Check it out.

This entry was posted in Good Reads, Humor, Websites We Like and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Internet Awesome Alert

  1. Christina says:

    In conveying her own life experiences in a hilariously personal and engaging way, she has an uncanny way of describing my life. In fact, this explains A LOT about me. And this all too frequently describes my thought process after I start a sentence “It would be AWESOME if…”

  2. Christina says:

    Sorry, link fail, THIS explains A LOT about me.

Comments are closed.