HAHAHAHA!

The     Fatal     Conceit.

A visual representation of about a third--one third--of the new healthcare plan.

PDF New Healthcare.

ht Independent Women’s Forum

This entry was posted in Economics, Government, Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to HAHAHAHA!

  1. What I love is that the “haters”, as I’m growing more and more comfortable classifying posts from the Whiskey and Car Keys zone- offer mockery of all sorts, least of which to my open minded disappointment, as I like to be swayed in progressive directions- of the literary kind (which can be quantified as a failure on their part if spreading the word is ever the intent), but don’t seem to offer alternatives or any real ideas to take the place of what they are so quick to critique. It’s too bad too, because for all the rhetoric about big government, I’d really like to know, how would YOU do it? There never really seems to be an answer though, none that seems to work at least- or, well, wouldn’t it be in place already? Or are you sopowerless I’m supposed to feel sorry for you that you can’t make it happen? If it’s a better kind of thing, let’s have it. If not, why not stop hating and get with making the system in place- work better for us all?

    To think, when I found WaCK, I was kind of impressed, but now, I think it’s just annoying. I’ll have to end this rss feed.

    • Aaron says:

      That’s odd, because we often link to thoughtful proposals, interesting new ideas, or highlight creative uses of time and energy, like this image from Congress’ Joint Economic Committee, which neatly illustrates an acute problem.

      But yeah, Hill staffers like them are certainly all ‘haters’. How original, and based in fact, your comment is; and may I say what a fascinating and busy life you must lead that clicking through a link and reflecting for a moment are far beyond your time, patience, or capacity.

  2. Mr. Fantastic says:

    Honestly, I think DanielD is partially correct here. My post wasn’t overly open minded or sensitive. Thanks for the comment/reminder.

    As to the meat of your comment…. Though the post doesn’t offer answers, Hayek’s The Fatal Conceit does offer a framework for looking at the healthcare issue (I’m assuming you read it or looked at a synopsis before commenting).

    First, I think the diagram pretty perfectly illustrates the conceit behind attempting to plan incredibly complex systems, such as the market for healthcare. Most anyone looking at the planning chart (which only covers 1/3 of the entire plan) would be struck by how overly complicated it is.

    Second, Hayek suggests that–given the problems of successfully gathering and using knowledge to deal with such complex issues–no human planners can do as well as (and here’s the solution, DD) the extended order (aka capitalism or a free’ish market). No such ill-fated map of planning is required for any other set of products in mostly unrestricted markets–Skittles, baseball gloves, books, etc.–and I never for a second worry about finding products that suit my needs in those markets. Looking at that chart, I’m very worried that I’ll be able to walk into hospital and find what I need fast.

    Hayek’s whole point is that THE BEST (but not perfect) solution is allowing individuals freedom to figure things out by themselves in a market; you CAN NOT plan these things, and–hence–offering MY conceited alternative of how to control healthcare is no better than the latest scheme. Just stop trying to control it, and the same invisible hand that guides Skittles and gloves and books will guide products/services related to healthcare.

Comments are closed.