DuCks in DC

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I used to always catch the bus at McPherson Square park, and could never figure out why there were always ducks (see picture if you don’t believe me) in the middle of DC.  I mean, this park has no pond and nothing overtly duck friendly about it.

Then one day, I saw the white vans (also pictured) pull up.  A gaggle of homeless men walked over, picked up free sandwiches from the good-intentioned volunteers, and then immediately proceeded to take that food and throw it to the waiting ducks, only eating a bite or two themselves.

There’s a life lesson there of sorts…

This entry was posted in Philosophy, Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DuCks in DC

  1. Christina says:

    Were the sandwiches from Subway? There’s also a Mitch Hedberg (Mitch All Together) quote there: “…ducks ain’t supposed to be downtown, there’s nothing for ’em there. So I went to a Subway sandwich shop, I said ‘let me have a bun.’ But she wouldn’t sell me just the bun, she said I had to have something on it. She told me it’s against regulations for Subway to sell just the bun. I guess the two halves ain’t supposed to touch. So I said alright, well put some lettuce on it. They said, ‘that’ll be $1.75.’ I said ‘it’s for a duck.’ They said, ‘alright, well then it’s free.’ See, I did not know that. Ducks eat for free at Subway!! Had I known that, I would have ordered a much larger sandwich. ‘Let me have the steak fajita sub. But don’t bother ringing it up… it’s for a duck! There are six ducks out there, and they all want Sun Chips!!'”

Comments are closed.